Keynote Speakers

Dr. Vincent A. Traag is a senior researcher at the Centre for Science and Technology Studies (CWTS) of Leiden University in the Netherlands. He is a core member of the Engagement & Inclusion focal area at CWTS, where he studies the role of science in societal debates. He is involved in a project in open science which is called PathOS. This is a Horizon Europe programme aiming to collect concrete evidence of Open Science effects, study the pathways of Open Science practices, from input to output, outcome, and impact. During his PhD, he studied methods for detecting communities in complex networks, resulting in a Python software package. In addition, he applied this methodology in several fields across the (social) sciences, ranging from citation networks to international relations.

Keynote speech: Challenges of causality in Open Science.

Dr. Michael Thelwall is Professor of Data Science in the Information School at the University of Sheffield, UK. Dr. Thelwall develops and evaluates free software and methods for systematically gathering and analysing web and social web data, including for scientometrics, altmetrics, gender differences, and social science research methods. He also develops and applies quantitative methods for research evaluation and assesses their uses and flaws. He is an associate editor of the Journal of the Association for Information Science and Technology and sits on three other editorial boards.

Keynote speech: Estimating expert review quality scores for journal articles with bibliometrics and artificial intelligence

Dr. Cassidy R. Sugimoto is Professor and Tom and Marie Patton School Chair in the School of Public Policy at Georgia Institute of Technology, USA. Her research examines the formal and informal ways in which knowledge is produced, disseminated, consumed, and supported, with an emphasis on issues of diversity, equity, and inclusion. Sugimoto was a professor of Informatics in the School of Informatics, Computing, and Engineering at Indiana University Bloomington from 2010-2021 and served as the Program Director for the Science of Science and Innovation Policy program at the National Science Foundation from 2018-2020. She has received the Indiana University Trustees Teaching award (2014), a national service award from the Association for Information Science and Technology (2009), and a Bicentennial Award for service from Indiana University (2020). She holds a bachelor’s in Music Performance, a master’s in Library Science, and a doctoral degree in Information and Library Science all from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.

Keynote speech: Equity in the global science system.